Geo-Spatial Sciences and Technology

The Department of Geo-Spatial Sciences and Technology was formed in 2013 during the review of the Namibia University of Science and Technology Strategic Planning (PSP – 4) of 2014 – 2018, and became operational in January 2014.  The department was part of the old Department of Land Management, under the School of Natural Resources and Tourism, currently known as Faculty of Natural Resources and Spatial Sciences.

The Department of Geo-Spatial Sciences and Technology offers degrees in Geomatics (NQF Level 6, 7 and 8) and Geoinformation Information Technology (NQF Level 7, 8) and a Masters in Geo-information Science and Earth Observation (Taught Masters) and a Masters in Spatial Science (Research Masters) both of which are NQF Level 9 degree programs. The department is supported by 18 full time staff bringing with them both local and international expertise.  In addition the department receives support and contributions from local and international stakeholders in the delivery of their degree programs, ensuring that our material is kept current and relevant.


Events and Announcements


A public lecture will be given on Monday, 27 February 2017,...

Public lecture: Dr Benoit Laurent, LISA

"Progress and challenges in mineral dust...


Clouds consisting of water droplets and ice crystals cover two thirds of the...

Back to Top